August 12, 1978
BMG Special Products
Country, Country-Pop, Contemporary Country

Album Review

Dolly Parton found increasing success in the late '70s, and Heartbreaker showcases her increasing confidence beautifully. In 1978 Parton was the winner of the Country Music Association's Entertainer of the Year award, probably due in part to Heartbreaker's rise to number one on the country charts and its two number one singles ("I Really Got the Feeling" and the title track). While the clean country-pop is a step away from her much rootsier previous albums, it is the natural progression toward her 9 to 5 and Odd Jobs pop crossover success in the years to come. Unfortunately with this BMG Special Products release, the liner notes are nonexistent (Parton's duet partner, Richard Dennison, on "We're Through Forever ('Til Tomorrow)" goes completely uncredited) and the disco remixes of "Baby I'm Burning" and "I Wanna Fall in Love" (which were two of the year's biggest club hits) would've been terrific bonus cuts, but they are nowhere to be found. Still, it's great to have Heartbreaker back in print, no matter the shortcomings of the packaging.
Zac Johnson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Really Got the Feeling
  2. It's Too Late to Love Me Now
  3. We're Through Forever ('Til Tomorrow)
  4. Sure Thing
  5. With You Gone
  6. Baby I'm Burnin'
  7. Nickels and Dimes
  8. The Man
  9. Heartbreaker
  10. I Wanna Fall in Love
purchase full album