Universal Distribution
Pop/Rock, Folk-Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

At the time the Mamas & the Papas broke up in 1968, it was painfully obvious that Dunhill Records was placing all their bets on Elliot as far as a successful solo recording career. They certainly had good reason. While Elliot wasn't always the lead voice on the hits (Denny Doherty usually was), she provided the sound that brought the vocal majesty together, as well as an image. The "final" Mamas single, "Dream a Little Dream," was now billed as a "Mama Cass" single, and Dunhill quickly brought her into the studio for an album. The result is one of her finest, and an important sociological record, too. It can easily be described as the sound of Laurel Canyon in 1968, with songs by Graham Nash (whom Elliot was in the process of introducing to Stills and Crosby), John Sebastian, and Robbie Robertson. John Simon exquisitely produced this album, employing his "nuts and bolts" technique that was so effective on his work with the Band. It was a great start for her solo career. Unfortunately after this, Elliot fell into the record industry machinery, and quickly began turning out bubblegum hits that weren't really where she was at. This sounds like a place closer to her heart, and to listeners' hearts as well.
Matthew Greenwald, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  2. California Earthquake
  3. Room Nobody Lives In
  4. Talkin' to Your Toothbrush
  5. Blues for Breakfast
  6. You Know Who I Am
  7. Rubber Band
  8. Long Time Loving You
  9. Jane, the Insane Dog Lady
  10. What Was I Thinking Of
  11. Burn Your Hatred
  12. Sweet Believer