June 16, 2008
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Soul, Blue-Eyed Soul, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

This is quite a package, but one that makes little sense in a way. As a way of clearing inventory, Sony/BMG has been assembling five-album sets, calling the entire series Original Album Classics. Simply put, they pack five albums in sequence and reissue them. In the case of Hall & Oates, they don't follow a strict in-sequence release pattern, instead picking five hit albums. This starts with the self-titled album and Bigger Than Both of Us, but then jumps right to Beauty on a Back Street and leaves out Along the Red Ledge, then goes back to order with Private Eyes, leaving out Voices and X-Static. It also includes H2O. This is all well and good but doesn't really fill a void, and anyone who collects Hall & Oates material already has most if not all of these albums. The price point isn't terribly attractive either -- they are standard budget-line prices without a discount for the quantity.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Camellia
  2. Camellia
  3. Sara Smile
  4. Sara Smile
  5. Alone Too Long
  6. Alone Too Long
  7. Out Of Me, Out Of You
  8. Out of Me, Out of You
  9. Nothing at All
  10. Gino (The Manager)
  11. Nothing At All
  12. Gino (The Manager)
  13. You Know It Doesn't Matter Anymore
  14. Ennui on the Mountain
  15. You Know It Doesn't Matter Anymore
  16. Ennui On The Mountain
  17. Grounds for Separation
  18. Soldering
  19. Grounds For Separation
  20. Soldering
  21. What's Important to Me [*]
  22. Ice [*]
  23. What's Important To Me [*]
  24. Ice [*]
  25. Back Together Again
  26. Rich Girl
  27. Crazy Eyes
  28. Back Together Again
  29. Rich Girl
  30. Do What You Want, Be What You Are
  31. Kerry
  32. Crazy Eyes
  33. Do What You Want, Be What You Are
  34. London, Luck and Love
  35. Room to Breathe
  36. You'll Never Learn
  37. Kerry
  38. London, Luck & Love
  39. Falling
  40. Room To Breathe
  41. You'll Never Learn
  42. Falling
  43. Don't Change
  44. Why Do Lovers Break Each Other's Heart?
  45. You Must Be Good for Something
  46. The Emptyness
  47. Love Hurts (Love Heals)
  48. Don't Change
  49. Why Do Lovers Break Each Other's Heart?
  50. Bigger Than Both of Us
  51. Bad Habits and Infections
  52. Winged Bull
  53. You Must Be Good For Something
  54. The Girl Who Used to Be
  55. The Emptyness
  56. Bad Habits And Infections
  57. Bigger Than Both Of Us
  58. Love Hurts (Love Heals)
  59. Winged Bull
  60. The Girl Who Used To Be
  61. Private Eyes
  62. Looking for a Good Sign
  63. I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)
  64. Mano a Mano
  65. Did It in a Minute
  66. Head Above Water
  67. Tell Me What You Want
  68. Friday Let Me Down
  69. Unguarded Minute
  70. Your Imagination
  71. Private Eyes
  72. Looking For A Good Sign
  73. Some Men
  74. Your Imagination [Disco Remix][*]
  75. I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)
  76. Mano A Mano
  77. I Can't Go for That (No Can Do) [Extended Club Mix][*]
  78. Did It In A Minute
  79. Head Above Water
  80. Tell Me What You Want
  81. Friday Let Me Down
  82. Unguarded Minute
  83. Your Imagination
  84. Some Men
  85. Your Imagination [Disco Remix][*]
  86. I Can't Go For That (No Can Co) [Extended Club Mix][*]
  87. Maneater
  88. Crime Pays
  89. Art of Heartbreak
  90. One on One
  91. Open All Night
  92. Family Man
  93. Italian Girls
  94. Guessing Games
  95. Delayed Reaction
  96. At Tension
  97. Go Solo
  98. Maneater
  99. Crime Pays
  100. Family Man [Rock Mix]
  101. Maneater [Extended Club Mix]
  102. Art Of Heartbreak
  103. One On One
  104. One on One [12" Version]
  105. Open All Night
  106. Family Man
  107. Italian Girls
  108. Guessing Games
  109. Delayed Reaction
  110. At Tension
  111. Go Solo
  112. Family Man [Rock Mix]
  113. Maneater [Extended Club Mix]
  114. One On One [12" Version]
purchase full album