RELEASE
November 02, 1993
LABEL
Columbia
GENRES
Country, Country-Pop, Contemporary Country, Traditional Country

Album Review

Legend is a hefty title to carry, especially if you're still kicking. The standards are high, the expectations immense. Dolly Parton, Loretta Lynn, and Tammy Wynette are, nevertheless, legends of country music with decades of albums and awards to prove it. And they are very much still kicking on Honky Tonk Angels -- just in case anyone needs a little reminder. You can even hear how much fun they had singing together, setting aside any historic competition and letting their love of country music shine through, each gracefully moving between lead and harmony vocals. As for the song selection, it covers a wide swath of country history from tunes made famous by early pioneers like Ferlin Husky, the Davis Sisters, and Hank Locklin to their own more contemporary compositions. If that weren't enough credibility, Kitty Wells lends her amazing voice to the opening anthem "It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels." Pure goodness. In another twist, Patsy Cline sings on "Lovesick Blues" with Parton, Lynn, and Wynette backing her. The closing track sums up the humorous reverence that permeates much of country music. "I Dreamed of a Hillbilly Heaven" was a hit for Tex Ritter in 1961 and is a surprising choice that seems a bit out of place, but somehow works well enough. For fans of traditional country or great singers, this is a fun listen because it nicely captures three of the best voices around.
Kelly McCartney, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angelshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/it-wasnt-god-who-made-honky-tonk/id208578313?i=208578364&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Put It off Until Tomorrowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/honky-tonk-angels/id208578313?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Silver Threads and Golden Needleshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/silver-threads-golden-needles/id208578313?i=208578383&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Please Help Me I'm Falling (In Love with You)http://itunes.apple.com/album/please-help-me-im-falling-in-love/id208578313?i=208578389&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Sittin' on the Front Porch Swinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sittin-on-front-porch-swing/id208578313?i=208578395&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Wings of a Dovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/wings-of-a-dove/id208578313?i=208578398&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Knowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-forgot-more-than-youll-ever-know/id208578313?i=208578408&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Wouldn't It Be Greathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/wouldnt-it-be-great/id208578313?i=208578418&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. That's the Way It Could Have Beenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thats-way-it-could-have-been/id208578313?i=208578424&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Let Her Flyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/let-her-fly/id208578313?i=208578429&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Lovesick Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lovesick-blues/id208578313?i=208578431&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. I Dreamed of a Hillbilly Heavenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-dreamed-hillbilly-heaven/id208578313?i=208578468&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album