September 28, 2010
Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Folk-Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Hard Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

The conventional wisdom on Neil Young used to be that he alternated between acoustic folk and full-on guitar skronk with every other album, but 2010’s Le Noise melds the two extremes. At its core, it’s a singer/songwriter album, a collection of reflections and ruminations about life and loss in the modern world, war imagery rubbing against battered memories and tattered autobiography, the songs leisurely following their own winding path, but it’s produced loudly, with Neil supporting himself with only his electric guitar for all but two tracks, where he switches the Les Paul for an acoustic. Its ambience accentuated in post-production by Daniel Lanois, Le Noise winds up as something elusive and intriguing, a minor-key mood piece that's hard to pin down.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Walk wth Me
  2. Sign of Love
  3. Someone Gonna Rescue You
  4. Love and War
  5. Angry World
  6. Hitchhiker
  7. Peaceful Valley Boulevard
  8. Rumblin'