Pop/Rock, Jangle Pop, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Grunge, College Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

Barenaked Ladies are a little less interested in the quirky and comic on their second album, perhaps recognizing that They Might Be Giants have that niche covered. Instead, though, they are showing their sensitive folk-pop roots, which makes them winning, if a little wet. (XTC, anyone?) But one thing they aren't is "alternative," a matter dealt with in the chorus of the song "Alternative Girlfriend," when they sing, "There's nothing left that won't cross over." Well put, and present company included.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Jane
  2. Intermittently
  3. These Apples
  4. You Will Be Waiting
  5. A
  6. Everything Old Is New Again
  7. Alternative Girlfriend
  8. Am I the Only One?
  9. Little Tiny Song
  10. Life, in a Nutshell
  11. The Wrong Man Was Convicted
  12. Great Provider
purchase full album