RELEASE
November 19, 1991
LABEL
GENRES
Pop/Rock

Album Review

Reinventions rarely come as thorough and effective as Achtung Baby, an album that completely changed U2's sound and style. The crashing, unrecognizable distorted guitars that open "Zoo Station" are a clear signal that U2 have traded their Americana pretensions for postmodern, contemporary European music. Drawing equally from Bowie's electronic, avant-garde explorations of the late '70s and the neo-psychedelic sounds of the thriving rave and Madchester club scenes of early-'90s England, Achtung Baby sounds vibrant and endlessly inventive. Unlike their inspirations, U2 rarely experiment with song structures over the course of the album. Instead, they use the thick dance beats, swirling guitars, layers of effects, and found sounds to break traditional songs out of their constraints, revealing the tortured emotional core of their songs with the hyper-loaded arrangements. In such a dense musical setting, it isn't surprising that U2 have abandoned the political for the personal on Achtung Baby, since the music, even with its inviting rhythms, is more introspective than anthemic. Bono has never been as emotionally naked as he is on Achtung Baby, creating a feverish nightmare of broken hearts and desperate loneliness; unlike other U2 albums, it's filled with sexual imagery, much of it quite disturbing, and it ends on a disquieting note. Few bands as far into their career as U2 have recorded an album as adventurous or fulfilled their ambitions quite as successfully as they do on Achtung Baby, and the result is arguably their best album.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Zoo Stationhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/zoo-station/id475390461?i=475390534&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Even Better Than the Real Thinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/even-better-than-real-thing/id475390461?i=475390982&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Onehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/one/id475390461?i=475391315&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Until the End of the Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/until-the-end-of-the-world/id475390461?i=475391384&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horseshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/whos-gonna-ride-your-wild/id475390461?i=475391399&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. So Cruelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/so-cruel/id475390461?i=475391414&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. The Flyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-fly/id475390461?i=475391419&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Mysterious Wayshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mysterious-ways/id475390461?i=475391505&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tryin-to-throw-your-arms-around/id475390461?i=475391561&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Ultra Violet (Light My Way)http://itunes.apple.com/album/ultra-violet-light-my-way/id475390461?i=475391623&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Acrobathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/acrobat/id475390461?i=475391624&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Love Is Blindnesshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-is-blindness/id475390461?i=475391627&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Lady With the Spinning Head (UV1)http://itunes.apple.com/album/lady-with-spinning-head-uv1/id475390461?i=475391709&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Blow Your House Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/blow-your-house-down/id475390461?i=475391711&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Saloméhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/salome/id475390461?i=475391716&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Even Better Than the Real Thinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/even-better-than-real-thing/id475390461?i=475391719&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Satellite of Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/satellite-of-love/id475390461?i=475391722&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horseshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/whos-gonna-ride-your-wild/id475390461?i=475391725&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. Paint It Blackhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/paint-it-black/id475390461?i=475391995&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. Even Better Than the Real Thinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/even-better-than-real-thing/id475390461?i=475392051&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. Mysterious Wayshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mysterious-ways/id475390461?i=475392052&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. Night and Dayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/night-and-day/id475390461?i=475392053&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. The Lounge Fly Mixhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-lounge-fly-mix/id475390461?i=475392054&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  24. Fortunate Sonhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fortunate-son/id475390461?i=475392057&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  25. Alex Descends Into Hell for a Bottle of Milk/Korova 1http://itunes.apple.com/album/alex-descends-into-hell-for/id475390461?i=475392058&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  26. Where Did It All Go Wrong?http://itunes.apple.com/album/where-did-it-all-go-wrong/id475390461?i=475392060&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album