December 29, 1982
Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

After two disappointing albums, Neil Young turned weird. Employing synthesizers to distort his voice, he made an album that succeeded in sounding not much like a Neil Young album. Actually, songs like "Sample And Hold" and "Like An Inca" were good, but the new techno version of The Buffalo Springfield oldie "Mr. Soul" tested the patience of fans. (This was Young's debut on Geffen Records, which later would sue him for making uncommercial albums like this one.)
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Little Thing Called Love
  2. Computer Age
  3. We R in Control
  4. Transformer Man
  5. Computer Cowboy (AKA Syscrusher)
  6. Hold on to Your Love
  7. Sample and Hold
  8. Mr. Soul
  9. Like an Inca