February 23, 1998
Phonogram (Sweden)
Pop/Rock, Hard Rock

Album Review

Richie Sambora's second solo album Undiscovered Soul is a more ambitious affair than Stranger in This Town, finding the guitarist trying on a wide variety of styles. Not all styles are fit Sambora's bluesy hard rock foundation, but it's interesting him to try out blues-rock, power ballads, pop/rock, arena rock and Stonesy rock, even if he's not always successful. Sambora has a pleasantly bland voice and knows how to craft a hard rock song, even if he doesn't always come up with a good hook. The result is a respectable journeyman album filled with competent songwriting and fine guitar playing -- just the kind of record that will appeal to his fans.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Made in America
  2. Hard Times Come Easy
  3. Fallen from Graceland
  4. If God Was a Woman
  5. All That Really Matters
  6. You're Not Alone
  7. In It for Love
  8. Chained
  9. Harlem Rain
  10. Who I Am
  11. Downside of Love
  12. Undiscovered Soul
purchase full album