July 07, 1998
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Grunge, College Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

By trying to mask their smart-ass humor in a big pop production, the Barenaked Ladies attempt to set themselves up for the big crossover that they nearly achieved with such past singles as "Be My Yoko Ono" and "Brian Wilson." Nothing on Stunt, the group's fourth studio album, is so clearly jokey (although "Alcohol" comes close), but they still rely on clever satire. That may irritate some listeners who would otherwise be won over by the group's increased musical skill. Never before has the band been able to pull off so many different styles, from jangly pop and alt-country to loungy bossa nova, so well. Musically, it could convince the doubters who have written off Barenaked Ladies as novelty pranksters, but the lyrics still will stand in the way of trad-rockers predisposed to this style of music. Of course, listeners who are a little less uptight will find Stunt to be a fine collegiate party record and one of the best albums the Barenaked Ladies have released.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. One Week
  2. It's All Been Done
  3. Light up My Room
  4. I'll Be That Girl
  5. Leave
  6. Alcohol
  7. Call and Answer
  8. In the Car
  9. Never Is Enough
  10. Who Needs Sleep?
  11. Told You So
  12. Some Fantastic
  13. When You Dream
purchase full album